Introduction

Daily Wind forecasts, questions about weather, gear, locations, etc.

Introduction

Postby WestonYoud » Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:09 pm

Hello All -
I'm new to kiting, and am looking a good source of information and answers to some of the questions I have in getting started.
I started kiting on vacation in Cabarete, Dom. Republic. in 2004. I took a 2 lessons on the beach and was able to do body drags in the ocean, and on the second day I was up on the board for just a few seconds. I was hooked, but thought that there weren't locations in Utah that I could continue, so I didn't pursue the sport. Then had lunch with a former co-worker and he mentioned that he's trying a new sport, and it brought the itch back.
Now that I knew the ability to kiteboard here was a possibility, I told my wife I wanted to try and get into the sport. I did so in passing, but she took it a bit further, and for Christmas got me a 16m Cabrinha Hi Aspect bow kit with a Recon 2 control bar. She got a steal deal on it, but I'm thinking it's not the best learner kite, and the Recon2 bar is alot different that what I learned on in the DR.
One thing that I'm most having issues with, other than the big bird of a kite, is that the chicken leg is cut short on the chicken loop. I figure this is for unhooking, but for some reason it really bugs me. Is there a way to replace the chicken leg (DD for others) on the control bar?
Also, I'd like to get a good understanding of how to best use this control bar.
Sorry for the long post, but glad to see a strong community of kiteboarders here in the state.
WestonYoud

Postby Kenny » Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:45 am

Weston,