South Wind at Utah Lake

Daily Wind forecasts, questions about weather, gear, locations, etc.

South Wind at Utah Lake

Postby Bill Freedman » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:07 am

I am new to kiting and been waiting for a good opportunity to kite at UT Lake. It seems like there is a lot of south wind which I understand is not good for Lincoln Beach or other South launches.

Isn't there something on the north side of Utah Lake that would allow kiters an opportunity to take advantage of those south days?

Thanks,
Bill
Bill Freedman

Re: South Wind at Utah Lake

Postby Travis Cook » Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:11 pm

I've wondered the same and hopefully someone with more experience than me will comment. But it seems like if there is anything it would be either an on-shore wind, water launch and landing or nothing safe for a beginner if you cant get/stay up wind. I cant think of any beaches or launches or anything. I know that wind suffers hit mile marker 18 on the west side n south days but I don't know if any kiters haves tried it.

Last observation: every time there is good south wind that hits DC it rarely is good enough in the valley or on utah lake. It is a rare day when the south on utah lake is good enough to even kite. So the canyon plus the thermals must make DC kite able when UL is not.

I've done Lindon beach a few times but it isn't very safe for a lot of reasons. There is another thread here about the čraziness of kiting lindon. My two cents as a relatively new kiters here in UT county.
Travis Cook

Postby Kenny » Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:47 pm